Skip to content

Vitamix Kale Smoothie

April 28, 2011
by

I love my Vitamix.  It can blend, chop and process almost anything.  Recently I have been on a kale smoothie kick.  Here is what I use for a basic breakfast smoothie:

OJ or frozen pineapple chunks
Several leaves of kale, minus the stalk
A carrot or two
Fresh ginger, peeled
Water

I tend not to measure the ingredients and go with my gut.

You can add just about anything: apple, pears, strawberries, blueberries, kiwis, oranges, cucumber—get creative!

Kale is one of my favorites simply due to its health benefits.  It has the potential to reduce inflammation, decrease the risk for several cancers, it provides a great deal of vitamins K, A and C and over 45 flavonoids.  By adding it to a smoothie I get raw veggie servings early in the day and a boost of energy.

Blend away and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

