Skip to content

Temptation Averted…this time

August 20, 2010

“Lead us not into temptation. Just tell us where it is; we’ll find it.” —Sam Levenson

Last week I was shopping at Reading Terminal Market, with steak in mind. I had had a dream the night before about slivers of thin-sliced, tender steak cooked medium rare, dripping on the inside, seared on the outside and couldn’t put it out of my mind.

My new commitment to eat only grass-raised, organic happy meat forced me to the one vendor in Reading Terminal Market that exclusively sells happy meat: the Fair Foods Stand. I was pretty excited! But the only steak they had available was Delmonico–for $29 a steak! And since we were having friends to dinner, that was out of my wallet’s free-range.

I walked around the Terminal not once, but twice, circling the other meat vendors like a vulture–$499/lb…$3.99/lb…..so many steaks at prices I can pay for! It was the first big temptation since I swore off sad meat. I had already told my husband and friends about my dream and how they were going to share in it’s coming true for dinner that night. So it wasn’t just my own disappointment, but theirs I worried about.

In the end I went back to the Fair Foods stand and bought a bunch of happy ground beef, and we grilled burgers over charcoal, and they were awesome. No one seemed as upset as I felt as I paced the Market earlier that day. And I kept my promise to the Earth and those animals for at least one more day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

