Skip to content

Cooking Obsession

February 24, 2011

Once a month I find myself cooking with a friend who is equally obsessed with food.  It gives me a fresh prospective on my fresh produce. This month, here’s what we came up with:

Being the locavore that I am, I suggested a dish using some root vegetables that were in season and local, along with a few other items: carrots, turnips, parsnips, garlic and onions, with a light glaze of olive oil, agave nectar, salt, black pepper, oregano,  and a dash of whatever my tummy was in the mood for.

My friend had scallops and offered to cook them as an appetizer.  The scallops were sliced in half and marinated in fresh lemon and lime juice, then pan seared with olive oil, a touch of hot sauce and a dash of wine.  Add in a handful of spinach and a few halved cherry tomatoes and voila, the app. was done!

Now the main course: A no-recipe-needed concoction.   This is pretty much my standard.  It starts at the Reading Terminal Market or the grocery store to find a cheap yet tasty mixture of vegetables.

On this particular night we started with olive oil, garlic and onions; sauted in mushrooms, then bell peppers,  sun dried tomatoes and finally two handfuls of peeled and de-veined shrimp.  Remember to cook tougher veggies first (carrots, peppers, etc.) and softer ones at the end (sun dried tomatoes, tomatoes, etc.).  Mushrooms will absorb the taste of their surroundings, so I usually add them in with the garlic and onions.   Add your favorite mix of spices as needed—get creative!  Finally, add the concoction to cooked quinoa (did I mention my latest food obsession?  The great quinoa?!).  We used half a cup of white, and half a cup of red quinoa for a beautiful mixture.

Back to this cheap vegetable thing . . .   I spotted asparagus at Reading Terminal for 1.99 a pound and haven’t had it in a month or two.  I picked some up  and we roasted it with a mixture of balsamic vinaigrette, olive oil, and dried garlic flakes.
Simple, easy and delicious!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 3:29 pm

    Maybe you will want to place a facebook icon to your website. I just marked down the article, however I must complete it by hand. Just my advice.

Leave a Reply

