Skip to content

Garlic Scape Pesto Meets Asparagus

June 14, 2011

Since the delivery of my first CSA box my fridge has been calling me to come and have fun with the organic produce it has been holding.  I found garlic scapes, shitaki mushrooms, asparagus, yellow summer squash and much more.   I decided to make a pesto with the garlic scapes to glaze the asparagus.  It was AWESOME!  The recipe I guided my pesto after was from an article called The Crisper Whisperer: 7 Things To Do With Garlic Scapes.  I love the name “crisper whisperer” and simply had to share the recipe!

  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped garlic scapes*
  • Juice and zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • A few generous grinds of black pepper
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese

*Or substitute half the scapes with herbs like basil, dill and chervil.

I blended these ingredients in my blender and used a small amount for the asparagus.  The remainder is waiting for pierogies, as my man-friend loves them and, as I found out last night with a little sneak test, they are an amazing combo!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

