Skip to content

Vegetable Sushi: Quinoa, Beets, Apples, Mangoes and More!

July 26, 2011

I love sushi.  But I’m on a budget.

Good thing I love to experiment with my veggies!

Last week my man friend and I had some friends over for dinner.  I decided that making sushi would be fun, adventurous and maybe even inspiring.  I also thought that I could manage it all by myself.  I learned a few lessons that night:

  1. I can’t make a sushi dinner by myself: I shall never attempt it again.
  2. Mashed sweet potatoes plus some blanched veggies (like carrots, parsnips, asparagus or green beans) are great for what I like to call Thanksgiving in Japan.  If you add a little wasabi mayo, it’s even better.
  3. Beets, goat cheese and apple are a great combo.
  4. Quinoa is delicious as a healthy rice replacement but I haven’t figured out how to make it as sticky as the typical sushi rice.
  5. Mango, mint and vanilla yogurt with quinoa makes a great sushi roll if you are into it.  I was.  I’m pretty sure my man friend was not.
  6. Dinner guests that bring fruit as dessert are always welcome.

Have a sushi roll suggestion?  Please let me know!  We were thinking of including peanut butter some how in the future!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. eva permalink
    December 22, 2011 2:44 pm

    Great idea to use quinoa. Maybe you can make it sticky by mixing a little millet whit the quinoa. It will even be more sticky if you let the quinoa and millet soak overnigt and then cook (also good to reduce phytic acid)

    • anna permalink*
      December 22, 2011 5:13 pm

      Great idea! Thanks Eva.

Leave a Reply

