Skip to content

Soy Sauce Secret: Tamari

June 12, 2012

If you use soy sauce in your Asian inspired dishes, give tamari a whirl.  Tamari is a gluten and preservative free version of soy sauce and can be found in some international sections of grocery stores, or at Asian markets

As noted on http://www.care2.com:

Tamari literally means liquid pressed from soybeans, originally it was the thick brown liquid that pooled in casks of fermenting soybean miso. For centuries this tamari was a rare delicacy reserved for special occasions.

This website also outlines some the possible additives to soy sauce, ranging from “caramel colored water with lots of salt, hydrochloric acid treated soy isolate, and sugar added”.
Read more: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/tamari-shoyutamari-shoyu-soy-sauce.html#ixzz1xDpoAimL
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: